The Forest History Collection preserves the most comprehensive collection of materials documenting the history and traditions of the East Texas lumber industry and its impact on local culture, economy, and environment. Material from this collection includes papers from Temple Industries (1908-1957), one of the oldest large family-owned lumber manufacturers still operating; the Thompson Brother Lumber Company (1847-1959), which includes photos illustrating the life and work of African American lumbermen; and the W.T. Carter & Brothers Lumber Company (1876-1968), which established many railroad lines in East Texas and was unique in its strong commitment to the social welfare of its employees.
This collection consists of four series arranged across 12 boxes.
Series 1: Audits and Correspondence (Boxes 1-2)
Audits (1947-1952, 1954). Chronological.
Correspondence (1937-1960). Alphabetically by correspondent and then chronologically.
Series 2: Financial Records, 1928-1961 (Boxes 3-10)
Sub-series 1 - Daily Operations. Alphabetical or chronological depending on the folder.
Scope and Contents
Most of the collection consists of routine correspondence for both John B. McGee, chief clerk at Deweyville mill and Cecil Smith, manager of the Deweyville mill for the year 1940, as well as others. There are also pamphlets, applications, inventories, lists and miscellaneous business records.