Skip to main content

Nacogdoches County Records

Identifier: RHRD-3


  • Creation: 1826-2012
  • Event: Nacogdoches Co. birth record book 1 (1903-1909) and Nacogdoches Co. death record book 1 (1903-1917) were returned to the County Clerk's office because they contain vital records, 11/8/2023.

Language of Materials

The collection is in English and Spanish.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for research.

Biographical or Historical Information

Nacogdoches County is in the center of the pine belt of East Texas. It is bounded on the west and south by the Angelina River and on the east by the Attoyac Bayou. Rusk County borders on the north. Prior to the Texas Revolution the territory of Texas was divided into three departments, the area east of the Trinity River constituted the department of Nacogdoches. Later the departments were divided into municipalities with the villages called districts. After the revolution, the municipalities within the overall umbrella of Nacogdoches were divided into counties. From Nacogdoches County came Anderson, Angelina, Cherokee, Dallas, Gregg, Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, Hunt, Koufman, Polk, Raines, Rockwall, Rusk, Smith, Trinity, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.

The name Nacogdoches is Caddo in origin and thought to mean "Place of Persimmon" or "Place of High Hill."

At the time of European contact, Caddo and Bidai Native American groups lived in what is now Nacogdoches County. In 1716, the Spanish established asettlement at Nuestra Senora de Guadalupe do los Nacogdoches only to abandon it two years later. Two years later in 1720 the Spanish tried again. They remained precariously in Nacogdoches until 1763, when Spanish colonial authorities ordered them to emigrate South to San Antonio. European settlement remained sparse in the area until 1779, when Gil Antonio Ybarbo led a group back to Nacogdoches area to establish the first permanent colonial settlement.

Judicial Districts: 5th (1838-1846); 6th (1846-1848); 5th (1848-1866); 9th (1866-1868); 18th (1868-1870); 4th (1870-1875); 3rd (1875-1884); 2nd (1884-1973); Special 2nd (1954-1973); 145th (1973-Present).


0.00 Cubic Feet


The Nacogdoches County Court Records are organized into 9 Collections which reflect the different jurisdictions and types of records available at the county level. Each collection also consists of more specific records which may be organized (depending upon collection size, content, and extent processed) to the series, box, folder, and item level.

SFA History Professor Archie McDonald compiled a numbered "Inventory of County Records, Nacogdoches County" in (1975) that the ETRC uses to help organize its collection of Nacogdoches County Records.


County Court Records. Series 1 (Civil Court Records); Series 2 (Criminal Court Records); Series 3 (Deed Records); Series 4 (Oil and Gas Leases); Series 5 (Marriage Records); Series 6 (Probate Records); Series 7 (County Surveyor Records); Series 8 (Board of Land Commissioner Records); Series 9 (Chattel Mortgage Records); Series 10 (Notarial and Acknowledgment Records); Series 11 (Birth and Death Records); Series 12 (Other County Court Records)

District Court Records. Series 1 (Civil Court Records); Series 2 (Criminal Court Records); Series 3 (Other District Court Records).

Tax Assessor/Collector's Records. Series 1 (Tax Rolls); Series 2 (Delinquent Tax Rolls); Series 3 (School Tax Rolls); Series 4 (Assessor Abstracts).

Justice of the Peace (Justice Court) Records.

Commissioner's Court Records.

School Records.

Other Nacogdoches County Records. Series 1 (Official Public Records); Series 2 (Sheriff's Records); Series 3 (Military Records).

Department of Nacogdoches Records, 1826-1836.

City of Nacogdoches Records.

Guide to Nacogdoches County Records
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the East Texas Research Center Repository