Skip to main content

Shelby County Records

Identifier: RHRD-8


  • 1837 - 1982
  • Event: 4/18/2002 Records Transferred to the ETRC

Language of Materials

The collection is in English.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for research.


88 Volumes (County Court Books (9 volumes) Tax Assessor/Collector Books (74 volumes) Commissioner's Court Books (5 volumes))

7 Reels (County Court Microfilm (3 reels) Tax Assessor/Collector Microfilm (4 reels))

Biographical / Historical

Shelby County is situated on the Sabine River bounded by Panola County on the north, Rusk and Nacogdoches counties on the west, and San Augustine and Sabine counties on the south. The first permanent settlers in Shelby County came in 1818. The area became the Mexican Municipality of Tenehaw in 1824 and then a county in the Republic of Texas (1837).
Guide to Shelby County Records

Repository Details

Part of the East Texas Research Center Repository